I remember little of what I hear; how about you?

Started by ShineyMcShineShine, August 09, 2024, 04:49:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ShineyMcShineShine

I'm curious to know to what extent people remember the music they hear. I can listen to a piece of classical music ten times, then listen to it again a year or two later and it's as if I'm hearing it for the first time. By contrast, I can hear a snatch of a pop song once in a shopping mall and twenty years later hear it again and say to myself "I think I've heard that before."

I should note I've been listening to classical music for 30 years, so this question doesn't really belong here, but I didn't know where else to put it; Name That Tune? didn't seem quite appropriate either.

Karl Henning

I suspect I remember less than when I was a student. I don't remember enough to distinguish most Haydn symphonies or string quartets from one another after I've done listening. And I should be hard pressed to try to hum anything from most of the Shostakovich or Weinberg quartets. But neither do I let that faze me.
Karl Henning, Ph.D.
Composer & Clarinetist
Boston MA
http://www.karlhenning.com/
[Matisse] was interested neither in fending off opposition,
nor in competing for the favor of wayward friends.
His only competition was with himself. — Françoise Gilot

DavidW

I think I'm the opposite.  I have music playing in my head sometimes to the point of distraction.  Right now, the opening of Bach's St. John Passion is raging full-on.  If I don't listen to something frequently it doesn't stick, if it is too complex it will only feel familiar when I play it.  But most music, especially the ones I love, live rent-free in my head.

ShineyMcShineShine

Quote from: DavidW on August 09, 2024, 05:56:54 PMRight now, the opening of Bach's St. John Passion is raging full-on.